Prof. Dr. Wendy Cukier


Prof. Dr. Wendy Cukier is a Professor of IT Management, Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University & Founder, Diversity Institute, Canada.


During her five-year term as Ryerson University’s Vice-President of Research and Innovation, Wendy Cukier transformed her unit to support the growth of research and to promote innovation and commercialization. Dr. Cukier led the development of large institutional projects and proposals. Previously, she was the first Associate Dean of the Ted Rogers School of Management, leading the development of new MBA programs, dramatically expanding research activities, and gaining accreditation by the Association for the Advancement of Collegiate Schools of Business. She continues to teach and mentor students in several programs at Ryerson University.


Dr. Cukier is one of Canada’s leading experts in disruptive technologies, innovation processes, and diversity. She began her career working in technology forecasting with the Institute for the Future (Menlo Park) and Don Tapscott among others and remains interested in emerging technologies, their diffusion, and impact. Dr. Cukier is the Founder and Director of Ryerson University’s Diversity Institute, which she founded in 1999 and has led projects aimed at promoting the participation and advancement of underrepresented groups.


Wendy Cukier is a well-regarded champion of social justice, she has studied models of change and pioneered the adaptation of ecological models of complex systems change. She is a recipient of the Governor General’s Meritorious Cross, one of Canada’s highest civilian honors. She was also named one of the University of Toronto’s 100 Alumni Who Shaped the Century, was selected in 2013 as one of Canada’s Top 25 Women of Influence and in 2010 was selected as one of 25 Transformational Canadians by The Globe and Mail, La Presse and CTV. More recently, she received the Black Business Professional Association’s Harry Jerome Diversity Award and The Canada Pakistan Business Council’s Professional of the Year Award.